Ragi Chocolate Oreo Cake

Ragi and Chocolate make for a great pair because the characteristics of cocoa cloak ragi’s original flavour. And all you get is a soft, smooth, moist chocolate cake and no one, seriously no one, would be able to tell it was made with ragi (finger millet) instead of all purpose flour.

This cake is gluten-free except for the inclusion of Oreo cookies, which are highly optional.

I made these for lunch. I had 3 squares. 1 for sis. The remaining two I finished… One on the very same night with filter coffee and the other with a cup of warm milk on the next.

I’d call these brownies but I’m waiting to make proper ragi brownies sometime soon. And I’ll make them fudgy. Until then, have a slice of this cake.

IMG_20170718_162214_960

Ingredients:                                      (makes: 6 medium sized squares)

  • 1 cup ragi (finger millet / mandia)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon honey for sweetening (you can add more if you want your cake to be really sweet)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil (or olive oil or melted butter)
  • 3-4 oreo cookies, chopped. (chop with a knife, breaking with hands gets messy)

Directions:

  • Combine the ragi, cocoa powder baking powder, and baking soda.
  • Add the wet ingredients. Form the cake batter. Ensure there are no lumps and everything is well incorporated.
  • Add the chopped oreos. Mix. Prepare your baking tray. I used a 3″x5″ rectangular pan.
  • Bake at 200ºC for 25-30 mins. It’s done when an inserted pin comes out clean!

IMG_20170718_153004_722

Enjoy.

You can drop me a message on my Instagram or Facebook page regarding any questions or queries. I can also be reached at prattyandfood@gmail.com

You can also follow me on Instagram and Like my page on Facebook for more updates.

Leave a Reply

